Rick Steves' Europe

Rick Steves' Europe

RICK STEVES' EUROPE offers a fresh perspective on the best travel advice, including where to stay, what to see and how to get around in Europe. Rick Steves shares his extensive knowledge of European history, art and culture. His years as America's most popular European guidebook author blends with his relaxed but informative style to make this one of public television's most popular series.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

North England's Lake District and Durham

Admire idyllic lakes, waterfalls and stony summits while hiking through the Cumbrian Lake District.

Mon, Nov 27 at 5:30 am on WTTW HD

Western Turkey

Rick Steves visits ancient Ephesus and cruises the Mediterranean on a Turkish gulet from Antalya.

Sun, Nov 26 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, Nov 27 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Nov 28 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Central Turkey

Rick Steves explores the capital Ankara and marvels at the fascinating landscape of Cappadocia.

Sun, Dec 3 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, Dec 4 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 5 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Rick Steves explores the French countryside along the Loire River Valley and visits unique castles.

Mon, Dec 11 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 12 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 12 at 4:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Paris Side-Trips

Versailles, Europe's palace of palaces, Chartres cathedral and exquisite Vaux le Vicomte are visited.

Mon, Dec 18 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 19 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

The Best of Israel

Tel Aviv, the fortress of Masada, the Sea of Galilee and Yad Vashem Holocaust memorial are explored.

Mon, Dec 25 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 26 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Palestine

Follow pilgrims to the place of Jesus' birth in Bethlehem, harvest olives and bob in the Dead Sea.

Mon, Jan 8 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 9 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Wed, Nov 22 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Italy's Riviera: Cinque Terre

The five tiny port towns of Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, Riomaggiore and Monterosso are visited.

Mon, Jan 15 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 16 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Fri, Nov 24 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Italy's Veneto: Verona, Padua, and Ravenna

In the shadow of Venice, the three great cities of Padua, Verona and Ravenna are explored.

Mon, Jan 22 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 23 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, Nov 27 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Amsterdam

Europe's best-preserved 17th-century city, Amsterdam is quaint and jarring, traditional and modern.

Tue, Nov 28 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

The Netherlands Beyond Amsterdam

Charming Dutch sights are visited from Haarlem to Rotterdam and from Delft to the Zuiderzee.

Thu, Dec 14 at 4:00 am on WTTW HD

Wed, Nov 29 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Prague

Prague's massive castle, statue-lined bridge, evocative Jewish Quarter and more are visited.

Fri, Dec 15 at 4:00 am on WTTW HD

Thu, Nov 30 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Berlin

Berlin's trendy east side, people-friendly riverfront and its vibrant social scene are explored.

Sat, Dec 16 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

Fri, Dec 1 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Germany's Hamburg and the Luther Trail

Rick visits Hamburg, Germany's mighty port city, and the great historic sights of Martin Luther.

Sat, Dec 30 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

Sun, Dec 31 at 4:30 am on WTTW HD

Germany's Dresden and Leipzig

Opulent palaces and art treasures in Dresden and the Bach heritage of Leipzig are explored.

Sat, Jan 6 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

Germany's Frankfurt and Nurnberg

Skyscraper-studded Frankfurt and the maze of underground bomb shelters in Nurnberg are explored.

Sat, Jan 13 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

Bulgaria

Bulgaria, so mysterious to most Americans, has a vivid identity as a crossroads of the Balkans.

Sat, Jan 20 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

Tue, Jan 23 at 4:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Romania

Romania's vibrant capital, Bucharest, and its 'Little Paris of the East' architecture is explored.

Sat, Jan 27 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

Mon, Nov 27 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Nov 28 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 30 at 4:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Assisi and Italian Country Charm

Rick explores ancient wine cellars in the Italian countryside and the amazing basilica of Assisi.

Mon, Dec 4 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 5 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

Siena and Tuscany's Wine Country

Siena, once a proud and independent city-state, retains its confidence and unique traditions.

Mon, Dec 11 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 12 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

West England

Quaint Cotswold villages and dramatic prehistoric stone circles of Stonehenge are explored.

Mon, Dec 18 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 19 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

Southeast England

Rick travels from Canterbury to Dover and visits the beachy resort of Brighton.

Mon, Dec 25 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 26 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

WTTW Window Decal

Donate $5.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Ceramic Mug

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Super Plush Blanket

Donate $150.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Thanks to our
generous sponsors