Rick Steves' Europe

Rick Steves' Europe

RICK STEVES' EUROPE offers a fresh perspective on the best travel advice, including where to stay, what to see and how to get around in Europe. Rick Steves shares his extensive knowledge of European history, art and culture. His years as America's most popular European guidebook author blends with his relaxed but informative style to make this one of public television's most popular series.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

Greece's Peloponnese

The ruins of Olympia, the charming old port town of Nafplio and the Rock of Gibraltar are explored.

Mon, May 29 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Copenhagen

Discover Viking history, visit the Tivoli Gardens carnival and ogle crown jewels in the palace.

Tue, May 30 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Denmark: Beyond Copenhagen

Explore Copenhagen, affluent Aarhus and a royal burial church and Viking ship museum in Roskilde.

Wed, May 31 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Istanbul

Explore the Grand Bazaar, the city's ancient wall, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace.

Thu, Jun 1 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Iran:Tehran and Side Trips

Dodging traffic in Tehran, while enjoying the tranquility of a nearby village.

Fri, Jun 2 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Iran's Historic Capitals

The monuments of Persepolis, the tombs of poets in Shiraz and the mosques of Esfahan are explored.

Mon, Jun 5 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Croatia: Adriatic Delights

Explore the Dalmatian Coast, Plitvice Lakes National Park and the thriving capital city Zagreb.

Tue, May 30 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jun 4 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jun 6 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Dubrovnik and Balkan Side-Trips

Venture into less-touristed corners of the former Yugoslavia and visit Mostar and Montenegro.

Mon, Jun 5 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jun 6 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Wed, Jun 7 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Sun, Jun 11 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

The Best of Slovenia

Visit the prosperous capital of Ljubljana, the mountain resort of Lake Bled and the Julian Alps.

Thu, Jun 8 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Jun 12 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jun 13 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jun 18 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

Granada, Cordoba, and Spain's Costa Del Sol

Explore the regions great sites as Andalucia's Moorish heritage sparkles in the historic capitals.

Fri, Jun 9 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Jun 19 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jun 20 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jun 25 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

Andalucia, Gibraltar and Tangier

Enjoy Spain's whitewashed hill towns and roll down to the coast to the windsurfing mecca of Tarifa.

Mon, Jun 12 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Jun 26 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jun 27 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jul 2 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

Oslo

Enjoy the Norwegian capital's thriving harborfront, Viking ships, Vigeland's statues, Monch's art.

Tue, Jun 13 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Jul 3 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jul 4 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jul 9 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

Norway's West: Fjords, Mountains and Bergen

Sail under towering fjord cliffs, hike on powerful glaciers and explore historic Bergen.

Wed, Jun 14 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Jul 10 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jul 11 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jul 16 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

Stockholm

Experience the city's cultural highlights, visit gilded royal staterooms sample gourmet reindeer .

Thu, Jun 15 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Jul 17 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jul 18 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jul 23 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

Helsinki and Tallinn: Baltic Sisters

The fascinating capitals of Finland and Estonia offer a chance to explore history, art and culture.

Fri, Jun 16 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Jul 24 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jul 25 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jul 30 at 5:00 am on WTTW Prime

Galicia and the Camino De Santiago

Follow the trail pilgrims have trod for centuries, from the French border to Santiago de Compostela.

Mon, Jul 31 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Paris: Regal and Intimate

Explore the Seine River, Napoleon's tomb and the Louvre and experience a patriotic Bastille Day.

Tue, May 30 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

Paris: Embracing Life and Art

Explore the Cluny Museum, heavenly stained glass in Sainte-Chapelle and Pere Lachaise Cemetery.

Mon, Jun 5 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jun 6 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

London: Historic and Dynamic

Visit Westminster Abbey, explore the British Library and enjoy the vibrant evening scene in Soho.

Mon, Jun 12 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jun 13 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

North England's Lake District and Durham

Admire idyllic lakes, waterfalls and stony summits while hiking through the Cumbrian Lake District.

Mon, Jun 19 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jun 20 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

Venice: City of Dreams

Cruise the Grand Canal, visit a venerable cafe and savor fresh fish canalside with Venetian friends.

Mon, Jun 26 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jun 27 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

Venice and Its Lagoon

Sample the splendid art treasures of Venice, explore its backstreet wonders and cruise its lagoon.

Mon, Jul 3 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jul 4 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

European Travel Skills, Part I

Practical advice on how to have a fun, affordable and culturally broadening trip to Europe is given.

Mon, Jul 10 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jul 11 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

European Travel Skills, Part II

Practical advice on how to have a fun, affordable and culturally broadening trip to Europe is given.

Mon, Jul 17 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jul 18 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

European Travel Skills, Part III

Practical advice for having a fun, affordable and culturally broadening trip to Europe is shared.

Mon, Jul 24 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jul 25 at 1:00 am on WTTW Prime

Western Turkey

Rick Steves visits ancient Ephesus and cruises the Mediterranean on a Turkish gulet from Antalya.

Mon, Jul 31 at 6:30 pm on WTTW Prime

Germany's Dresden and Leipzig

Opulent palaces and art treasures in Dresden and the Bach heritage of Leipzig are explored.

Thu, Jun 22 at 4:00 am on WTTW HD

Germany's Frankfurt and Nurnberg

Skyscraper-studded Frankfurt and the maze of underground bomb shelters in Nurnberg are explored.

Thu, Jun 29 at 4:00 am on WTTW HD

Bulgaria

Bulgaria, so mysterious to most Americans, has a vivid identity as a crossroads of the Balkans.

Sat, Jul 1 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

Romania

Romania's vibrant capital, Bucharest, and its 'Little Paris of the East' architecture is explored.

Sat, Jul 8 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

Assisi and Italian Country Charm

Rick explores ancient wine cellars in the Italian countryside and the amazing basilica of Assisi.

Sat, Jul 15 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

Siena and Tuscany's Wine Country

Siena, once a proud and independent city-state, retains its confidence and unique traditions.

Sat, Jul 22 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

West England

Quaint Cotswold villages and dramatic prehistoric stone circles of Stonehenge are explored.

Sat, Jul 29 at 5:00 pm on WTTW HD

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

WTTW Tote Bag

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Ceramic Mug

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Basic Membership with WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Super Plush Blanket

Donate $150.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Thanks to our
generous sponsors