NOVA

Deadliest Volcanoes presented by NOVA

NOVA

PBS' premier science series helps viewers of all ages explore the science behind the headlines. Along the way, NOVA programs demystify science and technology and highlight the people involved in scientific pursuits.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

The Incredible Journey of the Butterflies

Journey into the fascinating world of the Monarch butterfly and explore its migratory odyssey.

Mon, Apr 13 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 14 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 14 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 18 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Deadliest Volcanoes

Scientists use new tools and techniques that are starting to reveal what makes a volcano tick.

Tue, Mar 31 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 31 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 4 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Deadliest Tornadoes

Explore the science behind the April 2011 tornadoes that left a trail of destruction across the US.

Mon, Apr 6 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 7 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 7 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 11 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Manhunt - Boston Bombers

A look at how modern technology and old-fashioned detective work helped catch the Boston bombers.

Wed, Apr 29 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 30 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sun, May 3 at 2:00 am on WTTW HD

Oklahoma's Deadliest Tornadoes

Scientists and storm survivors whose lives have been upended discuss violent, ferocious tornadoes.

Mon, Apr 20 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 21 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 21 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 25 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Megastorm Aftermath

An investigation of Hurricane Sandy focuses on the critical questions raised by the historic storm.

Mon, Apr 27 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 28 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 28 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Alien Planets Revealed

Animation and input from experts shed light on how NASA's Kepler telescope identifies new planets.

Wed, Apr 1 at 8:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 2 at 2:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 4 at 6:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, Apr 5 at 1:00 am on WTTW HD

Rise of the Hackers

The fast-paced world of cryptography and the scientists battling to keep data safe are explored.

Wed, May 20 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, May 21 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 23 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Emperor's Ghost Army

The 8,000 buried clay warriors of China's first emperor are researched using 3D computer modeling.

Wed, Apr 8 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 9 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Apr 9 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Fri, Apr 10 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Mon, May 11 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 12 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 12 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

First Man on the Moon

An intimate portrait of the American hero features interviews with Armstrong's family and friends.

Wed, May 27 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, May 28 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

The Great Math Mystery

An exploration of math's power across the centuries sheds light on how math works in our brains.

Wed, Apr 15 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 16 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Apr 16 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Fri, Apr 17 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Sat, Apr 18 at 6:00 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, May 18 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 19 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 19 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 23 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Invisible Universe Revealed

One of the most ambitious experiments in all of astronomy, the Hubble Space Telescope, is explored.

Wed, Apr 22 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 23 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Fri, Apr 24 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Mon, May 25 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 26 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 26 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 30 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Nazi Attack On America

Undersea explorer Bob Ballard examines the wreck of a German submarine a few miles from New Orleans.

Wed, May 6 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, May 7 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sun, May 10 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Lethal Seas

As carbon emissions raise the oceans' acidity, experts try to crack the code of a changing seas.

Wed, May 13 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, May 14 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 16 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

NOVA First Man on the Moon DVD

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Funding for NOVA is provided in part by:

Thanks to our
generous sponsors