NOVA

Treasures of the Earth: Gems presented by NOVA

NOVA

PBS' premier science series helps viewers of all ages explore the science behind the headlines. Along the way, NOVA programs demystify science and technology and highlight the people involved in scientific pursuits.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

Mystery of a Masterpiece

Cutting edge imaging analysis helps tie a striking portrait of a young woman to Leonardo da Vinci.

Wed, Dec 14 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Dec 15 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sun, Dec 18 at 2:00 am on WTTW HD

Mon, Jan 2 at 9:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 3 at 8:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Jan 7 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Building Pharaoh's Chariot

Archaeologists, engineers and woodworkers test highly accurate replicas of Egyptian royal chariots.

Wed, Dec 28 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Dec 29 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Mon, Jan 23 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 24 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 24 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Asteroid: Doomsday Or Payday?

Would-be asteroid miners dream up their own program to scout for potentially profitable asteroids.

Mon, Jan 16 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 17 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 17 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Jan 21 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Alien Planets Revealed

Animation and input from experts shed light on how NASA's Kepler telescope identifies new planets.

Mon, Dec 19 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 20 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 20 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sunken Ship Rescue

The operation to raise and salvage the capsized Costa Concordia cruise ship in Italy is chronicled.

Wed, Jan 25 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Jan 26 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jan 29 at 1:00 am on WTTW HD

Secrets of Noah's Ark

A 3,700-year-old inscribed clay tablet reveals a surprising new version of the Biblical flood story.

Wed, Dec 21 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Dec 22 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Fri, Dec 23 at 3:30 am on WTTW HD

Mon, Jan 9 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 10 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 10 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Jan 14 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Bombing Hitler's Supergun

Engineers and World War II historians investigate Hitler's fearsome bank of 'superguns.'

Thu, Dec 8 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Dec 8 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Thu, Dec 8 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Dec 26 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 27 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 27 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Treasures of the Earth: Gems

Delve into Earth's depths to discover how precious Gemstones like diamonds and rubies are forged.

Sat, Dec 3 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Treasures of the Earth: Metals

Explore how our mastery of metals has led us from the stone age to today's hi-tech world.

Mon, Dec 5 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 6 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 6 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Dec 10 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Treasures of the Earth: Power

Discover how Earth's natural treasures provide bountiful energy to power our modern world.

Mon, Dec 12 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 13 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Dec 13 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Dec 17 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Vampire Sky Tombs

A team of scientists and explorers probe high altitude caves in the Tibetan Himalayas.

Wed, Jan 4 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Jan 5 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jan 8 at 3:00 am on WTTW HD

The Nuclear Option

A renaissance in nuclear technology grows while a crisis continues at the Fukushima nuclear plant.

Wed, Jan 11 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Jan 12 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sun, Jan 15 at 1:30 am on WTTW HD

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

WTTW Tote Bag

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Basic Membership with WTTW Market Tote

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Producer's Circle Premier MemberCard and the Ultimate WTTW Gift Collection

Donate $365.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Thanks to our
generous sponsors