NOVA

Nazi Attack On America presented by NOVA

NOVA

PBS' premier science series helps viewers of all ages explore the science behind the headlines. Along the way, NOVA programs demystify science and technology and highlight the people involved in scientific pursuits.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

Secrets of the Sun

It contains 99.9 percent of all the matter in our solar system and sheds hot plasma at nearly a million miles an hour. The temperature at its core is a staggering 27 million degrees Fahrenheit. It convulses, it blazes, it sings. You know it as the sun. Scientists know it as one of the most amazing physics laboratories in the universe. Now, with the help of new spacecraft and Earth-based telescopes, scientists are seeing the Sun as they never have before and even re-creating what happens at the very center of the Sun in labs here on Earth. Their work will help us understand aspects of the sun that have puzzled scientists for decades. But more critically, it may help us predict and track solar storms that have the power to zap our power grid, shut down telecommunications, and ground global air travel for days, weeks, or even longer. Such storms have happened before-but never in the modern era of satellite communication. SECRETS OF THE SUN reveals a bright new dawn in our understanding of our nearest star-one that might help keep our planet from going dark.

Mon, Aug 22 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Aug 23 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Aug 23 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Aug 27 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Cold Case JFK

State-of-the art forensic tools are applied to investigate the assassination of John F. Kennedy.

Wed, Aug 17 at 8:00 pm on WTTW HD

Roman Catacomb Mystery

A forensic investigation explores an ancient city of the dead known as the Catacombs beneath Rome.

Wed, Aug 3 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Fri, Aug 5 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

D-Day's Sunken Secrets

Dive teams and underwater robots discover Allied crafts that sank during the invasion of Normandy.

Mon, Aug 29 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Aug 30 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Aug 30 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Nazi Attack On America

Undersea explorer Bob Ballard examines the wreck of a German submarine a few miles from New Orleans.

Fri, Jun 24 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Making North America: Origins

Discover how forces of almost unimaginable power gave birth to the continent of North America.

Wed, Jun 29 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Jun 30 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Jun 30 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Thu, Jun 30 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Sun, Jul 3 at 3:30 am on WTTW HD

Mon, Aug 1 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Aug 2 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Aug 2 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Aug 6 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Making North America: Life

The mysteries of how life evolved in North America, including the arrival of humans, are explored.

Wed, Jul 6 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Jul 7 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Jul 7 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Thu, Jul 7 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Fri, Jul 8 at 3:30 am on WTTW HD

Mon, Aug 8 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Aug 9 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Aug 9 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Aug 13 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Making North America: Human

Discover the challenges faced and the wealth uncovered as humans take over the continent.

Wed, Jul 13 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Jul 14 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Jul 14 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Thu, Jul 14 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Aug 15 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Aug 16 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Aug 16 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Aug 20 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

WTTW Window Decal

Donate $5.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Tote Bag

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Super Plush Blanket

Donate $150.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Funding for NOVA is provided in part by:

Thanks to our
generous sponsors