NOVA

Rise of the Drones presented by NOVA

NOVA

PBS' premier science series helps viewers of all ages explore the science behind the headlines. Along the way, NOVA programs demystify science and technology and highlight the people involved in scientific pursuits.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

The Bible's Buried Secrets

Archeological artifacts left behind by the Israelites reveal the history of the Old Testament.

Wed, Mar 25 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Mar 26 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Fri, Mar 27 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Lizard Kings

Monitor lizards, the largest lizards to walk the planet, are tracked through Australia's heartland.

Mon, Mar 2 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 3 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 3 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Mar 7 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Deadliest Volcanoes

Scientists use new tools and techniques that are starting to reveal what makes a volcano tick.

Mon, Mar 30 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 31 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 31 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Rise of the Drones

The explosive growth of airborne pilotless drones is transforming the armed forces of every nation.

Mon, Jan 26 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 27 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Jan 27 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Big Bang Machine

Particle physicists attempt to close in on the Higgs boson, the Great White Whale of modern science.

Mon, Feb 9 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Feb 10 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Feb 10 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Feb 14 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sunken Ship Rescue

The operation to raise and salvage the capsized Costa Concordia cruise ship in Italy is chronicled.

Mon, Feb 16 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Feb 17 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Feb 17 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Feb 21 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sinkholes - Buried Alive

Sinkholes, a worldwide hazard that lurks wherever limestone bedrock is found, are investigated.

Wed, Jan 28 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Jan 29 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Jan 29 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Sun, Feb 1 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Mon, Feb 23 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Feb 24 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Feb 24 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Feb 28 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Building Wonders: Hagia Sophia - Istanbul's Ancient Mystery

Architects and engineers examine the unique structure of the dome of Hagia Sophia in Istanbul.

Wed, Feb 25 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Feb 26 at 3:30 am on WTTW HD

Thu, Feb 26 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Mon, Mar 23 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 24 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 24 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Petra - Lost City of Stone

Experts carve a temple-tomb to find out how the ancient people of Petra built their city of stone.

Wed, Feb 18 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Feb 19 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sat, Feb 21 at 3:00 am on WTTW HD

Sat, Feb 21 at 4:00 am on WTTW HD

Mon, Mar 16 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 17 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 17 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Mar 21 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Colosseum - Roman Death Trap

One of the world's most iconic buildings, the Colosseum is a monument to Roman imperial power.

Wed, Feb 11 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Feb 12 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sun, Feb 15 at 2:00 am on WTTW HD

Mon, Mar 9 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 10 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 10 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Mar 14 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

NOVA First Man on the Moon DVD

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Funding for NOVA is provided in part by:

Thanks to our
generous sponsors