NOVA

Secrets of the Viking Sword presented by NOVA

NOVA

PBS' premier science series helps viewers of all ages explore the science behind the headlines. Along the way, NOVA programs demystify science and technology and highlight the people involved in scientific pursuits.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

Why Ships Sink

The events that led up to famous cruise disasters are reconstructed, including the Costa Concordia.

Sat, Apr 1 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Secrets of the Viking Sword

Science and detective work are used to reconstruct the revolutionary, high-tech Ulfberht sword.

Wed, Mar 29 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Mar 30 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Mar 30 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Thu, Mar 30 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Fri, Mar 31 at 4:00 am on WTTW HD

Mon, Apr 17 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 18 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 18 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 22 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Meteor Strike

Scientists hunt for debris and clues to the origin and makeup of a meteor that landed in Russia.

Wed, May 24 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, May 25 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 27 at 2:00 am on WTTW HD

Escape from Nazi Alcatraz

Aerospace engineers and carpenters test a plan to escape a Nazi war camp using a two-man glider.

Mon, Apr 10 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 11 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 11 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 15 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Big Bang Machine

Particle physicists attempt to close in on the Higgs boson, the Great White Whale of modern science.

Mon, Apr 3 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 4 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 4 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 8 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Arctic Ghost Ship

The Franklin Expedition is explored 160 years after vanishing while charting the Northwest Passage.

Wed, May 10 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, May 11 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 13 at 2:00 am on WTTW HD

Mon, May 29 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 30 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 30 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Himalayan Megaquake

Dramatic eyewitness footage reveals the shocking quake that devastated Nepal in April 2015.

Wed, Apr 5 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 6 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Apr 6 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Fri, Apr 7 at 12:00 am on WTTW Create/World

Fri, Apr 7 at 3:30 am on WTTW HD

Mon, May 1 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 2 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 2 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 6 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Super Tunnel

Engineers and designers build a massive new subterranean railway deep beneath the streets of London.

Wed, May 3 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, May 4 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 6 at 2:00 am on WTTW HD

Mon, May 22 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 23 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 23 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 27 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Holocaust Escape Tunnel

A team of archaeologists probes the ruins of a Nazi execution site In the heart of Lithuania.

Wed, Apr 19 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 20 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sun, Apr 23 at 1:30 am on WTTW HD

Mon, May 8 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 9 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 9 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 13 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Building Chernobyl's Megatomb

An international team of engineers races to contain lingering radioactive materials at Chernobyl.

Wed, Apr 26 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 27 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Fri, Apr 28 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Mon, May 15 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 16 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, May 16 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 20 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Chinese Chariot Revealed

Archaeological findings enable a team of experts to reconstruct and test China's ancient chariots.

Wed, May 17 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, May 18 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sat, May 20 at 2:00 am on WTTW HD

Troubled Waters

The chemistry and engineering that led to the water crisis in Flint, Michigan are examined.

Wed, May 31 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

WTTW Window Decal

Donate $5.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Ceramic Mug

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Basic Membership with WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Thanks to our
generous sponsors