NOVA

Deadliest Volcanoes presented by NOVA

NOVA

PBS' premier science series helps viewers of all ages explore the science behind the headlines. Along the way, NOVA programs demystify science and technology and highlight the people involved in scientific pursuits.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

The Bible's Buried Secrets

Archeological artifacts left behind by the Israelites reveal the history of the Old Testament.

Wed, Mar 25 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Mar 26 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Fri, Mar 27 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

The Incredible Journey of the Butterflies

Every year, 100 million monarch butterflies set off on an incredible journey across North America. These beautiful creatures fly 2,000 miles to reach their remote destination: a tiny area high in the mountains of Mexico. Yet scientists are still puzzling over how the butterflies achieve this tremendous feat of endurance - and how, year after year, the monarchs navigate with such hair's-breadth precision. NOVA flies along with the monarchs, visiting the spectacular locations they call home and meeting the dangers they encounter along the way. As this program reveals, the monarch is a scientific marvel locked in an inspiring struggle for survival.

Thu, Mar 19 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Apr 13 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 14 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 14 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 18 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Lizard Kings

Monitor lizards, the largest lizards to walk the planet, are tracked through Australia's heartland.

Sat, Mar 7 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Deadliest Volcanoes

Millions of people around the world live in the shadow of active volcanoes. Under constant threat of massive volcanic eruptions, their homes and their lives are daily at risk from these sleeping giants. From Japan's Mount Fuji to the 'Sleeping Giant' submerged beneath Naples to the Yellowstone 'supervolcano' in the United States, travel with scientists from around the world who are at work on these sites, attempting to discover how likely these volcanoes are to erupt, when eruptions might happen and how deadly they could prove to be.

Thu, Mar 5 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Mar 30 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 31 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 31 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 4 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Deadliest Tornadoes

In April 2011, the worst tornado outbreak in decades left a trail of destruction across the U.S., killing more than 340 people. Why was there such an extreme outbreak? How do such outbreaks form? With modern warning systems why did so many die? Is our weather getting more extreme -- and if so how bad will it get? This episode of NOVA looks at the science behind the April outbreak, meeting those affected and the scientists trying to predict tornadoes and understand whether this outbreak relates to global climate change.

Thu, Mar 12 at 11:00 pm on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Apr 6 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 7 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 7 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 11 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Oklahoma's Deadliest Tornadoes

Scientists and storm survivors whose lives have been upended discuss violent, ferocious tornadoes.

Mon, Apr 20 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 21 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 21 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 25 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Megastorm Aftermath

An investigation of Hurricane Sandy focuses on the critical questions raised by the historic storm.

Mon, Apr 27 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 28 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 28 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Alien Planets Revealed

Animation and input from experts shed light on how NASA's Kepler telescope identifies new planets.

Wed, Apr 1 at 8:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 2 at 2:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sat, Apr 4 at 6:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, Apr 5 at 1:00 am on WTTW HD

Emperor's Ghost Army

The 8,000 buried clay warriors of China's first emperor are researched using 3D computer modeling.

Wed, Apr 8 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 9 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Fri, Apr 10 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Building Wonders: Hagia Sophia - Istanbul's Ancient Mystery

Architects and engineers examine the unique structure of the dome of Hagia Sophia in Istanbul.

Mon, Mar 23 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 24 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 24 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Petra - Lost City of Stone

Experts carve a temple-tomb to find out how the ancient people of Petra built their city of stone.

Mon, Mar 16 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 17 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 17 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Mar 21 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

Colosseum - Roman Death Trap

One of the world's most iconic buildings, the Colosseum is a monument to Roman imperial power.

Mon, Mar 9 at 7:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 10 at 1:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Mar 10 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Mar 14 at 10:00 am on WTTW Prime

The Great Math Mystery

An exploration of math's power across the centuries sheds light on how math works in our brains.

Wed, Apr 15 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 16 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Fri, Apr 17 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Sat, Apr 18 at 6:00 am on WTTW Prime

Invisible Universe Revealed

One of the most ambitious experiments in all of astronomy, the Hubble Space Telescope, is explored.

Wed, Apr 22 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 23 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Fri, Apr 24 at 2:30 am on WTTW HD

Dawn of Humanity

The astounding discovery of ancient fossil human ancestors in a South African cave is highlighted.

Wed, Apr 29 at 9:00 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Apr 30 at 3:00 pm on WTTW Prime

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

NOVA First Man on the Moon DVD

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Funding for NOVA is provided in part by:

Thanks to our
generous sponsors