Jay's Chicago

Jay's Chicago

From people who love ice fishing or are dedicated to improving the lives of neighborhood kids, Jay Shefsky tells some of Chicago's best stories. This series shines a spotlight on ordinary people who do extraordinary things – from pursuing unusual passions, to finding innovative ways to meet daunting challenges, to practicing unique art forms – these individuals make Chicago a lively, interesting, and fun place to live. You'll meet a beehive rescuer, the Zamboni driver at Maggie Daley Park's Ice Skating Ribbon, a woman who wallpapered her home with broken glass, a family who raises goats, a teen YouTube sensation, an owl photographer, an ex-convict turned yoga teacher, and a man who reconstructed a working model of Abraham Lincoln's funeral train. And many more…

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

Music Makers

A 9-year old conductor and the amazing grade school music program that handed him the baton. A summer camp teaches kids to play the blues. A local Afghan refugee brings an ancient instrument into the 21st century. And, a young Polish immigrant crosses an ocean to make music in Chicago.

Wed, Apr 12 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Apr 13 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, Apr 17 at 4:00 am on WTTW Prime

Food!

A food photographer. Backyard Goats. Produce carts run by low-income entrepreneurs. Kids learn to cook.

Sun, Apr 2 at 6:30 am on WTTW Prime

Slow Art

Sun, Apr 9 at 7:00 am on WTTW Prime

Elders Going Strong

Wed, Mar 29 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Mar 30 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, Apr 3 at 4:00 am on WTTW Prime

Wildlife Photographers

Wed, Apr 5 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Apr 6 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, Apr 10 at 4:00 am on WTTW Prime

Life's Work

The unlikely owner of a kosher fish market on Devon Avenue. A couple transforms an abandoned lot into an inner city Nature center. And two brothers answer a want ad and inherit a puppet-operal legacy.

Wed, Apr 19 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, Apr 20 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Green and Growing

One man battles his suburban condo baord to create native prairie gardens. A synagogue where building green is a matter of faith. The eating habits of the Emerald Ash Borer. And, a threatened great blue heron colony.

Wed, May 3 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, May 4 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, May 7 at 6:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, May 8 at 4:00 am on WTTW Prime

Forward Motion

Barefoot running - year round! A mad does his time for murder, then returns to his community to give back. Yoga and meditation in Cok County Jail. And, a Chicago program gives each teen a team of mentors.

Wed, May 10 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, May 11 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, May 14 at 6:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, May 15 at 4:00 am on WTTW Prime

Unexpected Art

The unique artistic talent of our own Phil Ponce. A look inside the home of outsider artist Henry Darger. The Field Museum’s artist in residence, and the Chicago man who is a hero in the taxidermy world.

Wed, May 17 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Thu, May 18 at 12:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sun, May 21 at 6:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, May 22 at 4:00 am on WTTW Prime

Paths to Healing

A doctor in Chinatown doles out herbal remedies. A photographer’s passion brings healing to grieving families. A suburban wrestling coach faces his toughest match, and, equine therapy for people with disabilities.

Wed, May 24 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

Sun, May 28 at 6:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mon, May 29 at 4:00 am on WTTW Prime

Collecting History

A suburban mansion with one of the world's largest collections of automatic musical instruments. A rare book collector’s paradise closes its doors. An overstuffed antique 'ephemera' shop. And one man's passion for Chicago's Century of Progress World's Fair.

Wed, May 31 at 6:00 pm on WTTW Prime

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

Basic Membership with WTTW Market Tote

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Tote Bag

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Basic Membership with WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Super Plush Blanket

Donate $150.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Thanks to our
generous sponsors