Simply Ming

Simply Ming

The Emmy-nominated public television series SIMPLY MING is back featuring 26 fresh new episodes. This year, Ming and his guest chefs will be 'Cooking on the Fly' finding inspiration from his East-West pantry and surprise ingredients that range from exotic fruits and vegetables to meats and fish. In each studio episode, Ming kicks off the show by highlighting techniques to help you 'Cook on the Fly' at home. From filleting a fish to sharing the technique for cooking veggies kids will love, Ming and his guests use their culinary tricks to bring you a season of delicious new recipes.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

The Ultimate Comfort Food: The Egg

A Wok Stirred Shiitake Omelette is created. Cooking legend Jacques Pepin steps into the kitchen.

Mon, Oct 3 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Better Built Blt's

A Panko-crusted Eggplant BLT is served. Chef Duckie Estes creates a Fried Green Tomato BLT.

Tue, Oct 4 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Leftovers Ignite and Take Flight

A Crispy Noodle Cake with Ham and Brisket is served. Chef Marcus Samuelsson makes Pytt I Panna.

Wed, Oct 5 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Pizza for Dinner & Dessert

Pepe's Pizza, Spicy Clam Pizza is made. Elizabeth Falkner creates her Finocchio Flower Power Pizza.

Thu, Oct 6 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Blue Plate Special

Shitake Salisbury Steak with Pan Gravy and comedian Lenny Clarke's Mom's Meatloaf are highlighted.

Fri, Oct 7 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Hungary and Seoul Satisfying: Stuffed Cabbage

Korean Steamed Lion's Head is served. Kristen Kish prepares Hungarian Stuffed Cabbage.

Sat, Oct 1 at 11:30 am on WTTW Create/World

Mon, Oct 10 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Fresh Shucked Summer Sweetness

Scallop and Sweet Potato Ravioli are prepared. Chef Michael Mina makes Pan Seared Scallops.

Tue, Oct 11 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

A Chicken In Every Pot

Red Roast Whole Chicken is served with Vegetables. Tory McPhail makes Chicken and Mushroom Gumbo.

Sat, Oct 8 at 11:30 am on WTTW Create/World

Wed, Oct 12 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Not Andy Warhol's Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese

Fresh Indonesian Tomato Soup is made. Cortney Burns prepares Farmer's Cheese on Grilled Bread.

Thu, Oct 13 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Shrimp & Garlic: Compass-Wide Comfort Combo

Ming prepares Sauteed Shrimp with Garlic Black Pepper Sauce over rice and Gambas al Ajillo.

Fri, Oct 14 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Australian Beef with Mark Best

Australia's spectacular Wagyu Beef is seared and served with Beetroot and Radicchio Kimchee.

Mon, Oct 17 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Kangaroo Island with Kate Sumner and Craig Wickem

Wildlife in Australia is explored. Australian marron and King George Whiting are put on the barbie.

Tue, Oct 18 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Wood-Fired Cooking with Robert Marchetti

Seared Tuna Nicoise with Poached Duck Egg and Herbed Butter Sauce and Grilled Quail are prepared.

Wed, Oct 19 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Australian Lamb with Tim Bourke

A Orange-Ginger Lamb Shanks with Garlic Barley 'Risotto' and Lamb Belly are served.

Thu, Oct 20 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Oysters Three Ways with Darren Robertson

Ming heads out to Bondi Beach to cook oysters three-ways with Australian chef Darren Robertson.

Fri, Oct 21 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Gourmet Markets with Dominique Rizzo

Ming shops in some of the best gourmet markets in Australia with Aussie super-chef Dominique Rizzo.

Mon, Oct 24 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Cooking in the Oval with Dennis Leslie

Ming visits Adelaide, also known as Australian wine country. Pork Adobo with Muntrie Jam is made.

Tue, Oct 25 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Cooking Local with Lachlan Colwill

Seared Blue Fin Tuna with Cured Egg Yolk and a Buttermilk Tempura 'Surf & Turf' are cooked up.

Wed, Oct 26 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Great Gratins

Gratin Dauphinois with Grilled Flat Iron Steak and Colin Cowie's Gratin of Linguine are served.

Thu, Oct 27 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Chicken Soup - The World's Favorite Cure

Wonton Noodle Soup is served. Food and Wine Editor-in-Chief Dana Cowin prepares Udon Noodle Soup.

Fri, Oct 28 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Fruit Forward Desserts

Frozen Lemongrass Parfait with Pineapple Flambe and a Blueberry Brown Butter Tart are made.

Mon, Oct 31 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Dumplings - All The World Loves A Dumpling

Ginger Pork Dumplings with Dim Sum Dipper. Candice Kumai makes Gyoza and Matcha Tea Smoothie.

Wed, Nov 2 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Let Them Eat Fish Cakes

Salmon Cakes with Fennel Salad. Mark Gaier and Clark Fraiser make Cod Cakes with Tartar Sauce.

Thu, Nov 3 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

All-In-One Satisfying Steak Dinners

Ming prepares Mongolian Beef. Lydia Shire makes a mouthwatering Swiss Steak from Chuck Steak.

Fri, Nov 4 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Spaghetti East Western

Ming makes Asian spaghetti with Pork, Ginger and Garlic. Evan Deluty makes a classic Bolognese.

Mon, Nov 7 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Carla Hall

Country Greens, Tangy Chow-chow Pickles, Hot Water Cornbread and hearty Red Roast Pork are served.

Tue, Nov 8 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Ed Lee

Chef Edward Lee of 610 Magnolia stops by to grill up a rich Rib Eye with spicy Gochujang Butter.

Wed, Nov 9 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tiffani Faison

Top Chef all-star Tiffani Fasion creates Banh Xeo, a Vietnamese fried Pancake loaded with Shrimp.

Thu, Nov 10 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Jamie Bissonnette

Ming uses Crispy Chicken Sausage and Scallions to create a flavorful spin on classic Fried Rice.

Fri, Nov 11 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Todd English

Pizza features Fontina Fonduta, Meatball Ribbons, Shaved Artichokes and Heirloom Pomodoro Fresco.

Mon, Nov 14 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Matt Jennings

A decadent Strawberry Salsa Fresca with Grilled Fish and a lightly seared Tuna Tataki are prepared.

Tue, Nov 15 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Ken Oringer

Boston legend Ken Oringer makes a decadent Fideua and Ming revolutionizes Risotto.

Wed, Nov 16 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Michael Schlow

Chef Michael Schlow makes Spaghetti Amatriciana. Savory Black Bean Pork Chow Mein is served.

Thu, Nov 17 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Joanne Chang

Tasty Berry dishes include a Honey Champagne Sabayon Parfait and a Strawberry Ginger Kir Royale.

Fri, Nov 18 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Ivan Orkin

Flavorful Shrimp, Beef and Broccoli is spooned over a tasty Brown and White Rice mix.

Mon, Nov 21 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mario Batali

Renowned chef Mario Batali and Ming whip up two delicious home-cooked dishes in Ming's loft kitchen.

Tue, Nov 22 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mom & Dad 1

Ming's Mom and Dad stop by to share two delicious comfort food recipes.

Wed, Nov 23 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mom & Dad 2

It's a family affair as Ming's Mom and Dad show their son a thing or two in the kitchen!

Thu, Nov 24 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

California - Roy Choi

Chef Roy Choi takes Ming on a ride in one of his food trucks while they cook up some daring cuisine.

Fri, Nov 25 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

California - Animal

Ming meets the two visionaries behind the LA hotspot Animal, chefs Jon Shook and Vinny Dotolo.

Mon, Nov 28 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

California 3 - Richard Zarate

Ricardo Zarate, godfather of Peruvian cuisine, and Ming swap homestyle recipes from their cultures.

Tue, Nov 29 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

California 4

Ming drives up the California coast to get the scoop on local ingredients and try tasty dishes.

Wed, Nov 30 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Episode #1401

Sat, Oct 1 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

Episode #1402

Sat, Oct 8 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

Episode #1403

Sat, Oct 15 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

Episode #1404

Sat, Oct 22 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

Episode #1406

Sat, Nov 5 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

Episode #1407

Sat, Nov 12 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

Episode #1408

Sat, Nov 19 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

WTTW Stainless Steel Travel Mug

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Basic Membership with WTTW Market Tote

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Producer's Circle Premier MemberCard and the Ultimate WTTW Gift Collection

Donate $365.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Thanks to our
generous sponsors