Simply Ming

Simply Ming

The Emmy-nominated public television series SIMPLY MING is back featuring 26 fresh new episodes. This year, Ming and his guest chefs will be 'Cooking on the Fly' finding inspiration from his East-West pantry and surprise ingredients that range from exotic fruits and vegetables to meats and fish. In each studio episode, Ming kicks off the show by highlighting techniques to help you 'Cook on the Fly' at home. From filleting a fish to sharing the technique for cooking veggies kids will love, Ming and his guests use their culinary tricks to bring you a season of delicious new recipes.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

The Ultimate Comfort Food: The Egg

A Wok Stirred Shiitake Omelette is created. Cooking legend Jacques Pepin steps into the kitchen.

Fri, Aug 25 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Better Built Blt's

A Panko-crusted Eggplant BLT is served. Chef Duckie Estes creates a Fried Green Tomato BLT.

Mon, Aug 28 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Leftovers Ignite and Take Flight

A Crispy Noodle Cake with Ham and Brisket is served. Chef Marcus Samuelsson makes Pytt I Panna.

Tue, Aug 29 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Pizza for Dinner & Dessert

Pepe's Pizza, Spicy Clam Pizza is made. Elizabeth Falkner creates her Finocchio Flower Power Pizza.

Wed, Aug 30 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Blue Plate Special

Shitake Salisbury Steak with Pan Gravy and comedian Lenny Clarke's Mom's Meatloaf are highlighted.

Thu, Aug 31 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Fruit Forward Desserts

Frozen Lemongrass Parfait with Pineapple Flambe and a Blueberry Brown Butter Tart are made.

Sat, Jun 24 at 9:30 am on WTTW Create/World

Sun, Jun 25 at 3:30 pm on WTTW Create/World

Joanne Chang

Tasty Berry dishes include a Honey Champagne Sabayon Parfait and a Strawberry Ginger Kir Royale.

Mon, Jun 26 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Ivan Orkin

Flavorful Shrimp, Beef and Broccoli is spooned over a tasty Brown and White Rice mix.

Tue, Jun 27 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mario Batali

Renowned chef Mario Batali and Ming whip up two delicious home-cooked dishes in Ming's loft kitchen.

Wed, Jun 28 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mom & Dad 1

Ming's Mom and Dad stop by to share two delicious comfort food recipes.

Thu, Jun 29 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mom & Dad 2

It's a family affair as Ming's Mom and Dad show their son a thing or two in the kitchen!

Fri, Jun 30 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

California - Roy Choi

Chef Roy Choi takes Ming on a ride in one of his food trucks while they cook up some daring cuisine.

Mon, Jul 3 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

California - Animal

Ming meets the two visionaries behind the LA hotspot Animal, chefs Jon Shook and Vinny Dotolo.

Tue, Jul 4 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

California 3 - Richard Zarate

Ricardo Zarate, godfather of Peruvian cuisine, and Ming swap homestyle recipes from their cultures.

Wed, Jul 5 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

California 4

Ming drives up the California coast to get the scoop on local ingredients and try tasty dishes.

Thu, Jul 6 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Michael Scelfo

Michael Scelfo and Ming use butternut squash, curry and edamame to create delicious hummus dishes.

Fri, Jul 7 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Jody Adams

Chef Jody Adams makes a flavorful Green Pea and Artichoke Soup with two kinds of Pesto.

Mon, Jul 10 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Jasper White

Boston's 'King of Seafood'creates a Portuguese-style Seafood Stew of Clams, Mussels and Chourico.

Tue, Jul 11 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Barbara Lynch

Chef Barbara Lynch makes a Shellfish and Saffron Stew and Ming prepares Herb Olive Poached Seafood.

Wed, Jul 12 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Jeremy Sewell

Chef Jeremy Sewell makes Whole Black Sea Bass with Ginger Tomatoes, Pesto and Squash Blossoms.

Thu, Jul 13 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Texas 1

It's fall in Dallas and Ming visits with renowned local chefs and tries out the local fare in Texas.

Fri, Jul 14 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Texas 2

It's fall in Dallas! Ming enjoys the local fare in Texas and meets with renowned local chefs.

Mon, Jul 17 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Texas 3

It's fall in Dallas, Texas! Ming visits chefs and contributes his own dish to the cuisine culture.

Tue, Jul 18 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Texas 4

It's fall in Dallas, Texas! Ming contributes n dish to the cuisine culture and meets local chefs.

Wed, Jul 19 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Daniel Boulud

French chef Daniel Boulud creates a poulet a l'estragon with rice pilaf and yellow wax beans.

Thu, Jul 20 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Lidia Bastianich

Chef Lidia Bastianich prepares calamari alla griglia with shrimp, salsa verde and grilled bread.

Fri, Jul 21 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Jacques Pepin

Chef Jacques Pepin makes chicken livers with mushroom port cranberry sauce and chocolate Souffle.

Mon, Jul 24 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tiffani Faison

Chef Tiffani Faison makes a Vietnamese dish called pad gra pow and Ming makes meatloaf sliders

Tue, Jul 25 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Madhur Jaffrey

Potatoes in a Marwari style with griddle bread and a Japanese chicken curry are prepared.

Wed, Jul 26 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Rick Bayless

Master chef and Emmy-nominated host Rick Bayless joins us to create a Green Chili Adobo Taco Duo with Shrimp, Caramelized Onion and Roasted Chayote. Meanwhile, Ming makes a family-favorite: Surf-n-Turf Moo Shoo Wraps! Prepare your tastebuds for East meets Southwest!

Thu, Jul 27 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Johnny Iuzzini

Award-winning pastry chef Johnny Iuzzini creates an amazing frozen dark and stormy souffle.

Fri, Jul 28 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Shaun Hergatt

Chef Shaun Hergatt creates an acacia-glazed duck breast with plum puree and fennel salad.

Mon, Jul 31 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Rocco Dispirito

Rocco DiSpirito makes an almond vanilla protein smoothie and a spinach pesto pasta with tomatoes.

Tue, Aug 1 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sam Hayward

Local Bang's Island mussels, local cider, leeks and sea greens are combined with grilled bread.

Wed, Aug 2 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Gunnar Hvarnes

Ming takes off for Norway to explore its rich culture. Two delicious Cod dishes are created.

Thu, Aug 3 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Geir Skeier

Chef Tsai continues his adventure in Norway. Two meals from the region's sumptuous salmon are made.

Fri, Aug 4 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Orjan Johannessen

Two distinctive Fjord Trout meals and a pickled herring and caramel pudding are served.

Mon, Aug 7 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Andreas Viestad

Chef Viestad introduces Ming to a farm apple Kir before they whip up two mouth-watering meals.

Tue, Aug 8 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Will Gilson

Duck breast with hay-roasted carrots and toasted pistachios and Szechwan duck legs are prepared.

Wed, Aug 9 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Susan Regis

Susan Regi creates a rye berry salad with wine cap mushrooms, wild greens and herbed creme rraiche.

Thu, Aug 10 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Andrew Taylor and Mike Wiley

Oysters with kimchee, brown butter lobster roll and beer battered oysters with shallots are served.

Fri, Aug 11 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Hawai'i - Isaac Bancaco

Ming spends time in Hawai'i with chef Issac Bancaco. Two different takes on Tuna are showcased.

Mon, Aug 14 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Hawai'i - Ed Kenney

Ming and chef Ed Kenney create two unique takes on traditional dishes in Hawai'i.

Tue, Aug 15 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Hawai'i - Lee Ann Wong

Ming and chef Lee Anne Wong create a sumptuous meal celebrating the heritage of the islands.

Wed, Aug 16 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Hawai'i - Mom & Dad

Ming heads to Honolulu to join mom and dad in their kitchen for a family meal of favorite dishes.

Thu, Aug 17 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Hawai'i - Roy Yamaguchi and Alan Wong

Ming visits the Hawai'i Food and Wine festival and cooks with chefs Roy Yamaguchi and Alan Wong.

Fri, Aug 18 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Robert Sisca

Chef Robert Sisca comes up from Rhode Island to visit Ming and to create two takes on halibut.

Mon, Aug 21 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Jason Bond

Jason Bond of Bondir in Cambridge prepares grilled mackerel with charred eggplant puree.

Tue, Aug 22 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Louis Dibiccari

A lobster gravy with a lobster risotto and Thai basil-lobster risotto cakes are prepared.

Wed, Aug 23 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Matt Louis

Goat meatballs with garlic mustard pesto, local farm feta and sunchoke chips are prepared.

Sat, Jul 1 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

Thu, Aug 24 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

WTTW Ceramic Mug

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Basic Membership with WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Super Plush Blanket

Donate $150.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Thanks to our
generous sponsors