Simply Ming

Simply Ming

The Emmy-nominated public television series SIMPLY MING is back featuring 26 fresh new episodes. This year, Ming and his guest chefs will be 'Cooking on the Fly' finding inspiration from his East-West pantry and surprise ingredients that range from exotic fruits and vegetables to meats and fish. In each studio episode, Ming kicks off the show by highlighting techniques to help you 'Cook on the Fly' at home. From filleting a fish to sharing the technique for cooking veggies kids will love, Ming and his guests use their culinary tricks to bring you a season of delicious new recipes.

Searching for Video

Program Links

Upcoming Episodes

Kristen Kish & Soup

Chef Kristin Kish, who snared success with her soup on Top Chef, shares her soupy secrets.

Fri, Mar 18 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Grant Achatz & Scent Infusion

Chef Grant Achatz, the avant-garde leader of American cuisine, brings his magic to home cooking.

Mon, Mar 21 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Duff Goldman & Caramel

Duff Goldman, the Ace of Cakes, work his magic with a great carmel technique.

Tue, Mar 22 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Morimoto & Knives

Iron Chef Morimoto joins Ming to make sure we all know how important knife skills are.

Wed, Mar 23 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Jody Adams & Cooking Greens

Chef Jody Adams knows her foliage and she's going to help Ming make greens tasty on the fly.

Thu, Mar 24 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Jamie Bissonnette & En Pappiote

Jamie Bissonnette show how versatile cooking en papillote, or in parchment paper or foil, can be.

Fri, Mar 25 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Michael Schlow and Basting

Chef Michael Schlow cooks with Ming and shows that basting is as easy as a flick of the wrist.

Mon, Mar 28 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Amanda Cohen & Season Veggies

Chef Amanda Cohen promises to breathe new life into your veggie dishes.

Tue, Mar 29 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Todd English & Quick Pan Sauce

Pan Sauce with Lobster and the key to infusing Pasta Noodles with maximum flavor are featured.

Wed, Mar 30 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Michiba - Seafood

Ming visits Tsukiji in Japan, the biggest wholesale fish and seafood market in the world.

Thu, Mar 31 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Wakiya - Ramen

Ming visits the Instant Ramen Museum in Osaka, Japan and learns the secrets of cooking Ramen.

Fri, Apr 1 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Street Foods

Ming enjoys great street food in Japan, including Yakitori, Fresh Crab, Pork Offal and Takoyaki.

Mon, Apr 4 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Vancover - Tojo

Ming shops for fresh Seafood in Vancouver and cooks up a Seafood feast with Chef Hidekazu Tojo.

Tue, Apr 5 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Vancouver - Rain City

Chef Ming visits one of the best public markets on the continent, Granville Market, in Canada.

Wed, Apr 6 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Richmond - Ian Lai

Fresh Haddock and Salmon are paired with ingredients from a community garden in British Columbia.

Thu, Apr 7 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Richmond - Andy Liu

Chef Andy Liu cooks with Crab, one of the Richmond, British Columbia's best local ingredients.

Fri, Apr 8 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tony Maws & Funky Cuts

Chef Tony Maws cooks with the funky cuts of meat you might have trouble identifying at the market.

Mon, Apr 11 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mom and Dad - Show One

Chef Ming is joined by his Mom and Dad to cook some of their favorite dishes.

Tue, Apr 12 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Mom and Dad - Show Two

Chef Ming is joined by his Mom and Dad to cook some of their favorite dishes.

Wed, Apr 13 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Cooking at Home - Miso

Chef Ming visits one of the oldest Miso factories in Japan and learns Miso cooking techniques.

Thu, Apr 14 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Rakutaian-Kobe

Chef Ming learns about Kobe Beef and cooks at one of the best Beef restaurants in Osaka, Rakutaian.

Fri, Apr 15 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sake/Yonemura

Chef Ming Tsai goes to the Sake Brewery in Nara, Japan to discover the wonders of Sake.

Mon, Apr 18 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Rocky Mountaineer

Chef Ming Tsai travels across British Columbia to experience the best of Canadian cuisine.

Tue, Apr 19 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Calgary

Ming visits the Canadian Rocky Mountain Ranch where Chef Allistair Barnes cooks Elk and Bison.

Wed, Apr 20 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Ellie Krieger and Better Burgers

Want to eat more Burgers? Ming and Chef Ellie Krieger make some lighter, tastier Burgers on the fly.

Thu, Apr 21 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Einat Admony & Purees

Chef Ming and Chef Einat Admony show how to make Purees explode with texture and flavor.

Fri, Apr 22 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Organic Ponzu and Jamon De Fermin

Jamon Wrapped Asparagus with Ponzu Syrup and Seared Jamon Wrapped Chicken Breast are prepared.

Mon, Apr 25 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Spring Roll Wrappers and Pesto

Delicious recipes include Pesto Chicken and Spinach Spring rolls and Tomato and Cucumber Napoleon.

Wed, Feb 10 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Tue, Apr 26 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

The Ultimate Comfort Food: The Egg

A Wok Stirred Shiitake Omelette is created. Cooking legend Jacques Pepin steps into the kitchen.

Thu, Feb 11 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Wed, Apr 27 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Better Built Blt's

A Panko-crusted Eggplant BLT is served. Chef Duckie Estes creates a Fried Green Tomato BLT.

Fri, Feb 12 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Thu, Apr 28 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Leftovers Ignite and Take Flight

A Crispy Noodle Cake with Ham and Brisket is served. Chef Marcus Samuelsson makes Pytt I Panna.

Mon, Feb 15 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Fri, Apr 29 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Pizza for Dinner & Dessert

Pepe's Pizza, Spicy Clam Pizza is made. Elizabeth Falkner creates her Finocchio Flower Power Pizza.

Sat, Feb 13 at 11:30 am on WTTW Create/World

Tue, Feb 16 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Blue Plate Special

Shitake Salisbury Steak with Pan Gravy and comedian Lenny Clarke's Mom's Meatloaf are highlighted.

Wed, Feb 17 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Hungary and Seoul Satisfying: Stuffed Cabbage

Korean Steamed Lion's Head is served. Kristen Kish prepares Hungarian Stuffed Cabbage.

Thu, Feb 18 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Feb 20 at 11:30 am on WTTW Create/World

Fresh Shucked Summer Sweetness

Scallop and Sweet Potato Ravioli are prepared. Chef Michael Mina makes Pan Seared Scallops.

Fri, Feb 19 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

A Chicken In Every Pot

Red Roast Whole Chicken is served with Vegetables. Tory McPhail makes Chicken and Mushroom Gumbo.

Mon, Feb 22 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sat, Feb 27 at 11:30 am on WTTW Create/World

Not Andy Warhol's Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese

Fresh Indonesian Tomato Soup is made. Cortney Burns prepares Farmer's Cheese on Grilled Bread.

Tue, Feb 23 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Shrimp & Garlic: Compass-Wide Comfort Combo

Ming prepares Sauteed Shrimp with Garlic Black Pepper Sauce over rice and Gambas al Ajillo.

Wed, Feb 24 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Australian Beef with Mark Best

Australia's spectacular Wagyu Beef is seared and served with Beetroot and Radicchio Kimchee.

Thu, Feb 25 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Kangaroo Island with Kate Sumner and Craig Wickem

Wildlife in Australia is explored. Australian marron and King George Whiting are put on the barbie.

Fri, Feb 26 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Wood-Fired Cooking with Robert Marchetti

Seared Tuna Nicoise with Poached Duck Egg and Herbed Butter Sauce and Grilled Quail are prepared.

Mon, Feb 29 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Australian Lamb with Tim Bourke

A Orange-Ginger Lamb Shanks with Garlic Barley 'Risotto' and Lamb Belly are served.

Tue, Mar 1 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Oysters Three Ways with Darren Robertson

Ming heads out to Bondi Beach to cook oysters three-ways with Australian chef Darren Robertson.

Wed, Mar 2 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Gourmet Markets with Dominique Rizzo

Ming shops in some of the best gourmet markets in Australia with Aussie super-chef Dominique Rizzo.

Thu, Mar 3 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Cooking in the Oval with Dennis Leslie

Ming visits Adelaide, also known as Australian wine country. Pork Adobo with Muntrie Jam is made.

Fri, Mar 4 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Cooking Local with Lachlan Colwill

Seared Blue Fin Tuna with Cured Egg Yolk and a Buttermilk Tempura 'Surf & Turf' are cooked up.

Mon, Mar 7 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Great Gratins

Gratin Dauphinois with Grilled Flat Iron Steak and Colin Cowie's Gratin of Linguine are served.

Tue, Mar 8 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Chicken Soup - The World's Favorite Cure

Wonton Noodle Soup is served. Food and Wine Editor-in-Chief Dana Cowin prepares Udon Noodle Soup.

Wed, Mar 9 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Fruit Forward Desserts

Frozen Lemongrass Parfait with Pineapple Flambe and a Blueberry Brown Butter Tart are made.

Thu, Mar 10 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Sunday in the Park with Ming and Skip

Cook out dishes include Sesame Noodle Cucumber Salad and Aunt Marguerite's Famous Potato Salad.

Fri, Mar 11 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Dumplings - All The World Loves A Dumpling

Ginger Pork Dumplings with Dim Sum Dipper. Candice Kumai makes Gyoza and Matcha Tea Smoothie.

Mon, Mar 14 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Let Them Eat Fish Cakes

Salmon Cakes with Fennel Salad. Mark Gaier and Clark Fraiser make Cod Cakes with Tartar Sauce.

Tue, Mar 15 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

All-In-One Satisfying Steak Dinners

Ming prepares Mongolian Beef. Lydia Shire makes a mouthwatering Swiss Steak from Chuck Steak.

Wed, Mar 16 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Spaghetti East Western

Ming makes Asian spaghetti with Pork, Ginger and Garlic. Evan Deluty makes a classic Bolognese.

Thu, Mar 17 at 10:30 am on WTTW Prime

Ken Oringer

Boston legend Ken Oringer makes a decadent Fideua and Ming revolutionizes Risotto.

Sat, Feb 13 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

Michael Schlow

Chef Michael Schlow makes Spaghetti Amatriciana. Savory Black Bean Pork Chow Mein is served.

Sat, Feb 20 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

Joanne Chang

Tasty Berry dishes include a Honey Champagne Sabayon Parfait and a Strawberry Ginger Kir Royale.

Sat, Feb 27 at 12:30 pm on WTTW HD

comments powered by Disqus

Related Thank-You Gifts

WTTW Stainless Steel Travel Mug

Donate $40.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Basic Membership with WTTW Apron

Donate $60.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Producer's Circle Premier MemberCard and the Ultimate WTTW Gift Collection

Donate $365.00 or more to receive this gift as our way of saying "thank you!"

Funding for Simply Ming is provided in part by:

Thanks to our
generous sponsors